Thursday, August 28, 2014

AMPAS Announces 2015 Governors Awards

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today announced their 2015 honors for the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, and the Honorary Oscars for the upcoming ceremony in February.

1) Harry Belafonte is this year's recipient of the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award. Not only is he a film and music icon, but he has work with the UN to fight AIDS and other global travesties, and of course, his work on and off the screen advanced civil rights for African Americans for decades.

2) Hayao Miyazaki, the legendary Japanese director who produced countless classics over his decades in the industry, and won an Oscar for Spirited Away, is receiving one of this year's Honorary Oscars.

3) Jean-Claude Carriere was a brilliant French screenwriter, who won an Oscar in in 1962 for the Live Action Short "Heureux Anniversaire (Happy Anniversary)". Over his career he has worked with some of France's finest directors creating masterful scripts for the likes of Luis Bunuel, Jean-Luc Godard, and Philip Kaufman.

4) Finally, Maureen O'Hara, the legendary actress, who was never nominated for an Oscar during her long career, is finally getting her deserved recognition with the final Honorary Oscar. She starred in such films as The Hunchback of Notre Dame, How Green Was My Valley, Rio Grande, The Quiet Man, Miracle on 34th Street, and The Parent Trap.

For more information about these talented artists, the upcoming Oscars, and the Academy as a whole, visit

No comments:

Post a Comment