Friday, January 5, 2018

Producers Guild of America (PGA) Award Film Nominations

And the PGA's change the game once again. No Florida Project (and it really needed this, DGA is its last hope), no Darkest Hour, no Phantom Thread, no Mudbound. This hurts those bubble films. We also see the inclusions of I, Tonya and Molly's Game, a day after both landed WGA nominations. Every year there is at least one film, sometimes more, that show up late in the game and surprise. Are these two films we really need to consider. I, Tonya will miss, probably, a screenplay nod in favor of Three Billboards, which was not eligble for WGA, but clearly has support, and will get two acting nods and maybe some techs. That is enough to cross the finish line at the Oscars. Molly's Game was dismissed early on, but now I wonder. I wonder about the film and about Chastain and Elba. Are they ones to watch? Many are surprised by Wonder Woman's inclusion. I am not. Deadpool made it in last year, and this group has never been shy of blockbusters. I wish Oscar voters would follow suite, but I have a feeling this will have to be honor enough for the film. The real shock was eleven nominees. Where was the tie? Was in the obvious films, or are some of the supposed front runners not as strong as they appear? Time will tell. But this definitely shakes up the Oscar race, and my ten is now to nine with Mudbound the tenth slot. And Molly's Game, Wonder Woman, and I, Tonya have peaked my interest. The full list of nominees are below:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:
“The Big Sick”
Producers: Judd Apatow, Barry Mendel

“Call Me By Your Name”
Producers: Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Marco Morabito

Producers: Emma Thomas, Christopher Nolan

“Get Out”
Producers: Sean McKittrick & Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jason Blum, Jordan Peele

“I, Tonya”
Producers: Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley

“Lady Bird”
Producers: Scott Rudin, Eli Bush, Evelyn O’Neill

“Molly's Game”
Producers: Mark Gordon, Amy Pascal, Matt Jackson

“The Post”
Producers: Amy Pascal, Steven Spielberg, Kristie Macosko Krieger

“The Shape Of Water”
Producers: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale

“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Producers: Graham Broadbent & Pete Czernin, Martin McDonagh

“Wonder Woman”
Producers: Charles Roven & Richard Suckle, Zack Snyder & Deborah Snyder

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures
“The Boss Baby”
Producer: Ramsey Naito

Producer: Darla K. Anderson

“Despicable Me 3”
Producers: Chris Meledandri, Janet Healy

Producers: Lori Forte, Bruce Anderson

“The Lego Batman Movie”
Producers: Dan Lin, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller

No comments:

Post a Comment