Monday, November 11, 2013

2013 British Independent Film Award Nominations

What I have always liked about BIFA is that they really stay true to their independent roots unlike their American counterpart the Indie Sprits which have become less indie and less spirited as the years have gone on. So no, most of these films will have no impact on the Oscar race, although the inclusion of Philomena across the board, shows its broad British support, helping its Oscar campaign. Also the inclusions of Blue Jasmine in the foreign race showcases some broader support for Woody Allen's latest. Hey, any press, and any support they an get helps along the way. Anyway, enjoy the always interesting BIFA nods, and start your Oscar countdown race as it is about to heat up!

 Best British Independent Film
"Metro Manila"
"The Selfish Giant"
"Starred Up"
"Le Week-end"

Best Director
Jon S. Baird, "Filth"
Sean Ellis, "Metro Manila"
Clio Barnard, "The Selfish Giant"
David Mackenzie, "Starred Up"
Jonathan Glazer, "Under the Skin"

Best Actress
Judi Dench, "Philomena"
Lindsay Duncan, "Le Week-end"
Scarlett Johansson, "Under the Skin"
Felicity Jones, "The Invisible Woman"
Saoirse Ronan, "How I Live Now"

Best Actor
Jim Broadbent, "Le Week-end"
Steve Coogan, "Philomena"
Tom Hardy, "Locke"
Jack O'Connell, "Starred Up"
James McAvoy, "Filth"

Best Supporting Actress
Siobhan Finneran, "The Selfish Giant"
Shirley Henderson, "Filth"
Imogen Poots, "The Look Of Love"
Kristin Scott Thomas, "The Invisible Woman"
Mia Wasikowska, "The Double"

Best Supporting Actor
John Arcilla, "Metro Manila"
Rupert Friend, "Starred Up"
Jeff Goldblum, "Le Week-end"
Eddie Marsan, "Filth"
Ben Mendelsohn, "Starred Up"

Best Screenplay
Steven Knight, "Locke"
Jeff Pope and Steve Coogan, "Philomena"
Clio Barnard, "The Selfish Giant"
Jonathan Asser, "Starred Up"
Hanif Kureishi, "Le Week-end"

Best International Independent Film
"Blue is the Warmest Colour"
"Blue Jasmine"
"Frances Ha"
"The Great Beauty"

Best Technical Achievement
Shaheen Baig (casting), "Starred Up"
Johnnie Burn (sound design), "Under the Skin"
Amy Hubbard (casting), "The Selfish Giant"
Mica Levi (music), "Under the Skin"
Justine Wright (editing), "Locke"

Best Documentary
"The Great Hip Hop Hoax"
"The Moo Man"
"Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer"
"The Spirit of '45"
"The Stone Roses: Made of Stone"

Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director
Paul Wright, "For Those in Peril"
Tina Gharavi, "I Am Nasrine"
Jeremy Lovering, "In Fear"
Omid Nooshin, "Last Passenger"
Charlie Cattrall, "Titus"

Most Promising Newcomer
Harley Bird, "How I Live Now"
Caity Lotz, "The Machine"
Jake Macapagal, "Metro Manila"
Conner Chapman and Shaun Thomas, "The Selfish Giant"
Chloe Pirrie, "Shell"

Best Achievement in Production
"A Field in England"
"Metro Manila"
"The Selfish Giant"
"Starred Up"

Best British Short
"Dr Easy"
"Dylan's Room"

Raindance Award
"Everyone’s Going to Die"
"The Machine"
"The Patrol"
"Sleeping Dogs"

No comments:

Post a Comment