Sunday, December 13, 2015

San Francisco Film Critics Association Award Winners

Best Picture

Best Director
George Miller "Mad Max: Fury Road"

Best Actor
Paul Dano "Love & Mercy"

Best Actress
Saoirse Ronan "Brooklyn"

Best Supporting Actor
Michael Shannon "99 Homes"

Best Supporting Actress
Mya Taylor "Tangerine"

Best Original Screenplay
Oren Moverman and Michael Alan Lerner "Love & Mercy"

Best Adapted Screenplay
Nick Hornby "Brooklyn"

Best Cinematography
John Seale "Mad Max: Fury Road"

Best Production Design

Best Film Editing
Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Animated Feature

Best Foreign Language Picture
Son of Saul

Best Documentary
Listen to Me Marlon


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. Nice list of winners. Loving the love for Love & Mercy (say that three times as fast). Shannon keeps winning critics' awards for Supporting Actor is always cool.

    However, Spotlight winning Best Picture and ONLY Best Picture kinda bums me out. I mean, do they feel obligated to vote for it? I hope they don't. Its subject matter is far less black and white than 12 Years a Slave with slavery, mostly because most people just refuse to learn how the Catholic Church works regarding hierarchy and they refuse to acknowledge the sex abuse scandal's connection with the Sexual Revolution that took everyone in the world, including the Church, by storm in the middle of last century. Sure, the sex abuse scandal is tragic and a widespread abomination, but we must always remember that the actions of the few do not reflect on all the believers and much less the whole religious institution, and it's that principle for which most of the world always seems to treat the Church as an exception.

    And even though Spotlight is actually one of the more balanced takes on a scandal involving the Catholic Church, most people who hate the Church will exploit it to further perpetuate their hate. I hope that the critics' groups that vote Spotlight, one of the best films of the year, for just Best Picture and maybe a few others aren't voting for it because they feel they are obligated to vote for it for reasons other than that they truly regard it as the best of 2015.