Monday, March 6, 2017

2017 Olivier Award Nominations

Best New Musical
The Girls
Groundhog Day
School of Rock the Musical

Best New Play
The Flick
Harry Potter And The Cursed Child
One Night In Miami…

Best Director
Simon Stone for Yerma
John Tiffany for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
John Tiffany for The Glass Menagerie
Matthew Warchus for Groundhog Day

Best Musical Revival
Funny Girl
Jesus Christ Superstar
Show Boat
Sunset Boulevard

Best Revival of a Play
The Glass Menagerie
This House

Best New Comedy
The Comedy about a Bank Robbery
Nice Fish
Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour
The Truth

Best Actor in a Musical
David Fynn for School Of Rock The Musical
Tyrone Huntley for Jesus Christ Superstar
Andy Karl for Groundhog Day
Charlie Stemp for Half A Sixpence

Best Actress in a Musical
Glenn Close for Sunset Boulevard
"The Girls" - Debbie Chazen, Sophie-Louise Dann, Michele Dotrice, Claire Machin, Claire Moore and Joanna Riding - for The Girls
Amber Riley for Dreamgirls
Sheridan Smith for Funny Girl

Best Actor in a Play
Ed Harris for Buried Child
Tom Hollander for Travesties
Ian McKellen for No Man's Land
Jamie Parker for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Best Actress in a Play
Glenda Jackson for King Lear
Cherry Jones for The Glass Menagerie
Billie Piper for Yerma
Ruth Wilson for Hedda Gabler

Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Musical
Ian Bartholomew for Half a Sixpence
Adam J. Bernard for Dreamgirls
Ben Hunter for The Girls
Andrew Langtree for Groundhog Day

Best Actress in a Supporting Role in a Musical
Haydn Gwynne for The Threepenny Opera
Victoria Hamilton-Barritt for Murder Ballad
Rebecca Trehearn for Show Boa
Emma Williams for Half a Sixpence

Best Actor in a Supporting Role in a Play 
Anthony Boyle for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Freddie Fox for Travesties
Brian J Smith for The Glass Menagerie
Rafe Spall for Hedda Gabler

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Melissa Allan, Caroline Deyga, Kirsty Findlay, Karen Fishwick, Kirsty MacLaren, Frances Mayli McCann, Joanne McGuinness and Dawn Sievewright for Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour
Noma Dumezweni for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Clare Foster for Travesties
Kate O'Flynn for The Glass Menagerie

Best New Dance Production
Betroffenheit by Crystal Pite and Jonathon Young
Blak Whyte Gray by Boy Blue Entertainment
Giselle by Akram Khan and English National Ballet
My Mother, My Dog And CLOWNS! by Michael Clark

Outstanding Achievement in Dance
Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater for their London season
Luke Ahmet for The Creation by Rambert
English National Ballet for expanding the variety of their repertoire with Giselle and She Said

Best New Opera Production
4.48 Psychosis
Cosi Fan Tutte

Outstanding Achievement in Opera
Renee Fleming for her performance in Der Rosenkavalier
Stuart Skelton for his performance in Tristan and Isolde
Mark Wigglesworth for his conducting of Don Giovanni and Lulu

Best Entertainment and Family
David Baddiel - My Family: Not The Sitcom
Peter Pan
The Red Shoes

Outstanding Achievement in an Affiliate Theatre
Cuttin' It
The Government Inspector
The Invisible Hand
It is Easy to be Dead

Best Theatre Choreographer
Matthew Bourne for The Red Shoes
Peter Darling and Ellen Kane for Groundhog Day
Steven Hoggett for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Drew McOnie for Jesus Christ Superstar

Outstanding Achievement in Music
Dreamgirls - music by Henry Krieger
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - composer and arranger Imogen Heap
Jesus Christ Superstar - The band and company creating the gig-like rock vibe of the original concept album of Jesus Christ Superstar
School Of Rock the Musical - Three children's bands who play instruments live every night

Best Costume Design
Gregg Barnes for Dreamgirls
Hugh Durrant for Cinderella
Rob Howell for Groundhog Day
Katrina Lindsay for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Best Lighting Design
Neil Austin for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Lee Curran for Jesus Christ Superstar
Natasha Katz for The Glass Menagerie
Hugh Vanstone for Groundhog Day

Best Set Design
Bob Crowley for Disney's Aladdin
Bob Crowley for The Glass Menagerie
Rob Howell for Groundhog Day
Christine Jones for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Best Sound Design
Paul Arditti for Amadeus
Adam Cork for Travesties
Gareth Fry for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Nick Lidster for Autograph for Jesus Christ Superstar

Special Award
Sir Kenneth Branagh

No comments:

Post a Comment