Monday, December 29, 2014

North Carolina Film Critics Association Award Nominations

This is only there third year, but I am glad to see the film critics from my home state (Tar Heel born and bred!) staking their claim in the race. Here are the nominees, winners coming in a week!

Best Narrative Film
The Grand Budapest Hotel
A Most Violent Year

Best Documentary Film
Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me
Jodorowsky’s  Dune
Life Itself
The Overnighters

Best Animated Film
Big Hero 6
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
The Lego Movie
The Tales of Princess Kaguya

Best Foreign Language Film
Force Majeure
The Lunchbox
Two Days, One Night
We are the Best!

Best Director
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Ava DuVernay (Selma)
David Fincher (Gone Girl)
Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Actor
Ralph Fiennes (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Brendan Gleeson (Calvary)
Tom Hardy (Locke)
Michael Keaton (Birdman)
Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Best Supporting Actor
Josh Brolin (Inherent Vice)
Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)
Alfred Molina (Love is Strange)
Edward Norton (Birdman)
Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)
J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Actress
Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night)
Essie Davis (The Babadook)
Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything)
Julianne Moore (Still Alice)
Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)
Reese Witherspoon (Wild)

Best Supporting Actress
Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
Jessica Chastain (A Most Violent Year)
Keira Knightley (The Imitation Game)
Rene Russo (Nightcrawler)
Emma Stone (Birdman)
Tilda Swinton (Snowpiercer)

Best Original Screenplay
Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)
Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, and Armando Bo (Birdman)
Richard Linklater (Boyhood)
Jon Michael McDonagh (Calvary)

Best Adapted Screenplay
Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl)
James Gunn and Nicole Perlman (Guardians of the Galaxy)
Nick Hornby (Wild)
Graham Moore (The Imitation Game)
Joon-ho Bong and Kelly Masterson (Snowpiercer)

Tar Heel Award
(Special recognition to a performer or film with special ties to North Carolina.)
Zach Galifanikas (Birdman)
Cynthia Hill (Private Violence)
Jake Lacy (Obvious Child)
Julianne Moore (Still Alice)
Martha Stephens and Aaron Katz (Land Ho!)

No comments:

Post a Comment